MAC elects new chair

XSTRATA Nickel chief executive Ian Pearce has been elected chair of the Mining Association of Canada.
MAC elects new chair MAC elects new chair MAC elects new chair MAC elects new chair MAC elects new chair

Ian Pearce, courtesy Xstrata Nickel

Justin Niessner

Pearce replaces Teck Resources senior vice president Doug Horswill for a two-year term.

MAC president and chief executive Pierre Gratton welcomed Pearce to the new role.

“Ian brings three decades’ worth of mining expertise with him and has been actively involved in many of the association’s activities,” he said.

“MAC and the Canadian industry at large will surely benefit under his direction.”

Pearce has been active on the MAC board since 2007 as a member of the group’s executive committee and the towards sustainable mining governance team.

In these roles, he provides support and input on MAC’s operations and provides guidance to the association’s TSM initiative.

“It is an honour to be selected as chairperson of the association at such a pivotal time for the Canadian mining industry,” Pearce said.

“The sector is experiencing a period of growth and the future looks bright. As chairperson, I will focus on ensuring the industry is in a position to meet its challenges, capitalize on the growth opportunities facing our sector and maintain Canada’s standard of excellence in environmental and social practices.”

MAC members account for most of Canada’s production of coal.

Most read Archive


Most read Archive