New NMA officers take the helm

THE National Mining Association’s board of directors has elected a new group of officers for two-year terms from 2010 to 2012.
New NMA officers take the helm New NMA officers take the helm New NMA officers take the helm New NMA officers take the helm New NMA officers take the helm

National Mining Association's Bruce Watzman.

Donna Schmidt

The new chairman selected is Peabody chairman and chief executive officer Greg Boyce, and serving as vice-chairman is Stillwater Mining CEO Frank McAllister.

NMA president and CEO Hal Quinn will hold the seat of president, and association senior vice-presidents Roger Roberts and Bruce Watzman will serve as treasurer and secretary, respectively. NMA general counsel Katie Sweeney is now assistant secretary.

The selections were made at the group’s annual board of directors and members meeting on September 24.

"NMA is fortunate to have executives of this caliber devoting their time and energies to the association," NMA president Hal Quinn said.

"They make an extraordinary contribution to NMA and to US mining.”

Boyce replaces Rio Tinto CEO Gary Goldberg, who had served as chairman for two years.

"NMA remains a robust organization because of the active participation of our membership and the service of our officers and board members,” Watzman said.

“At a time when Americans are so concerned about their economic future, mining continues to provide jobs for more than 560,000 Americans and to meet the nation’s needs for affordable and reliable energy and the materials that are essential to our economic and national security."