WVCA elects board officers

THE West Virginia Coal Association appointed members to its board during an annual meeting last week, including a re-election of chairman Andrew Jordan.

Staff Reporter

Jordan, a representative of Pritchard Mining, is now in his second term, which expires in August 2008.

“As indicated by their unanimous election, the members of the association are thrilled to have Jordan represent them and the coal industry for another year,” the group said in a statement this week.

Jordan said he was anxious to continue projects and bring out the industry’s best.

“I’m excited to carry on the things that were started this past year in the midst of constant scrutiny and backlash from those who oppose the coal industry,” he said.

Rounding out those individuals chosen to serve one-year terms on the WVCA board were first vice-chairman Kevin Crutchfield (Alpha Natural Resources); second vice-chairman Ben Statler (PinnOak Resources); treasurer Paul Vining (Magnum Coal); assistant treasurer Kent Hartsog (Eastern Associated Coal/Peabody); secretary Ben Hatfield (ICG); assistant secretary John Snider (Arch Coal); and chairman of the associate members Dan Pochick (Rish Equipment).

Also chosen were a collection of industry representatives to sit on the group’s board for terms ending in 2010. They include Shannon Keeran (Parkston Energy); John Skidmore (Mountain Haus Properties); Butch Smith (Kanawha River Terminals); Dave Thomas (Alliance Coal); Gary White (International Resources); Nick Carter (Natural Resource Partners); Chris Supcoe (Crown Hill Equipment); and Wayne Thomas (Joy Mining Machinery).