New appointments on BHP board

BHP Billiton has welcomed Malcolm Broomhead and Carolyn Hewson to its board to replace Paul Anderson and Gail de Planque, who will be retiring at the end of this month.

Staff Reporter

The major miner announced today that Broomhead and Hewson will be appointed non-executive directors from March 31.

Broomhead is the chairman of Australian infrastructure company Asciano and was previously chief executive officer of Orica Ltd and North Ltd.

He has held various roles with Energy Resources of Australia, Peko Wallsend and MIM Holdings. He is also a non-executive director of Coates Group Holdings.

Hewson is a former investment banker with Schroders Australia and is a non-executive director of Westpac Banking Corporation, BT Investment Management and Stockland Corporation. She has previously been a non-executive director of AGL, AMP and CSR.

BHP chairman Don Argus said both appointments would be important additions to the board, bringing with them a wealth of experience in the international mining, energy and financial services industries.

“Malcolm has extensive experience in running industrial and mining companies with a global footprint and his experience in the sector will make a very attractive addition to our board,” he said.

“Carolyn has experience across a range of diversified industries with deep experience as a non-executive director. In particular, she has 25 years experience in the financial sector with extensive financial markets, risk management and investment management expertise.”

Meanwhile, Anderson has accepted an invitation to become a director of BP and de Planque will retire as she currently needs continuous treatment for Lyme disease.

Argus said both Anderson and de Planque had made extremely valuable contributions to the company.

“On behalf of the board I wish both Paul and Gail all the best and, while we are saddened to see them leave, they do so with the good will and gratitude of the board,” he said.

The latest appointments bring the number of BHP directors to 12.