Massey stalwart wins safety prize

ELK Run Coal Company safety director Wayne Persinger has taken out the prestigious West Virginia State Holmes Safety Association’s Co-Safety Leader of the Year award for 2003 in Charleston, West Virginia.

Angie Tomlinson

The award is presented to individuals who exemplify mine safety throughout the nation.

The award, named after one of the nation's first mine safety officials Joseph A. Holmes, recognizes individuals from all types of mining operations, including coal, copper and other mineral mining. Nominees are reviewed and recipients chosen by officials of the Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA) and the West Virginia Office of Miners' Health, Safety and Training.

In addition to the individual award, six Massey Energy Company operations were also awarded State and MSHA awards. These included Alex Energy # 1 surface mine, Chess Processing preparation plant, Coon Cedar Grove underground mine, Alex Energy North surface mine, Alma underground mine and George's Branch surface mine.

"Wayne has been a dedicated member for Massey since 1981 and is well deserving of this very prestigious award. We also congratulate the six Massey operations and their members that were also recognized for their excellent safety records," Massey chairman Don Blankenship said.