Mining execs among ATSE fellows

MINING executives Marius Kloppers, Sam Walsh and Erica Smyth were among the fellows elected to the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering for 2012.
Mining execs among ATSE fellows Mining execs among ATSE fellows Mining execs among ATSE fellows Mining execs among ATSE fellows Mining execs among ATSE fellows

BHP Billiton chief executive Marius Kloppers

Kristie Batten

BHP Billiton chief executive Kloppers was recognised for being a “leading world figure in the minerals industry”, while Rio Iron Ore CEO Walsh was named for his development of automation across the company’s Pilbara iron ore operations.

Smyth, chair of Toro Energy, was praised for being an “influential and inspirational advocate of the minerals and energy industries”

“Dr Smyth is exceptional for her leadership of technology-based enterprises, particularly through policy and technical improvement/innovation,” ATSE said.

Xstrata Copper CEO Charlie Sartain, Bechtel Corporation Mining and Metals Global Business Unit president and Bechtel Australia managing director Andy Greig, Infrastructure Australia chairman Sir Rod Eddington and Leighton Holdings CEO Hamish Tyrwhitt were also on the list.

South Australia’s Department for Manufacturing, Innovation, Trade, Resources and Energy executive director Paul Heithersay was praised for his work in the resources sector.

“Dr Heithersay has arguably been the most influential government scientist/executive in the global minerals sector over the past decade,” ATSE said.

“The initiatives implemented to encourage mineral exploration and development in South Australia have been copied by government agencies worldwide.”

Woodside Petroleum chair Michael Chaney and Santos CEO and MD David Knox represented the oil and gas sector.

They were among 37 Australian researchers, technological scientists, engineering, innovation and business leaders in water, energy, resources and medical technologies elected as fellows of the academy.