New line-up for BHP Coal

Staff Reporter

BHP's new flatter management structure, based on a portfolio management model, has been implemented with a reorganisation of key positions. Under division president Ron McNeilly's five-member "portfolio leadership" team, the management has been divided into asset leaders, business leaders and strategic advisory leaders.

Business leadership of the coal division has been assumed by Mike Oppenheimer in the newly created position of president, BHP Coal. Asset leaders include Wayne Isaacs in his ongoing position as president, Illawarra Coal, and Rick Gazzard as president, Queensland Coal.

BHP loses Len Dean, previously vice-president coal and iron ore marketing and one of BHP's lead negotiators in the recent talks held in Tokyo over coal and iron ore prices.

Experienced Bowen Basin operator, John Grubb, joins the team as president of New Mexico coal in the US. Grubb's appointment comes after his efforts in sorting out problems with the Hartley and Ok Tedi operations.